I’m having my cake, and eating it too.

Okie dokie! Sorry to take so long. As you recall, I was very anxious and nervous about handing in my resignation letter. I have been with this particular company for nearly 3 years. In fact, I moved to Farmville to go into management with this company but then decided against it. I’ve developed lasting relationships and friendships with my coworkers and bosses. Heck, without them, I would have never met Russell or Sniffer. 😦

I gave my GM the letter and he asked me what was going on. I didn’t want to be negative and start a fight. After all, my GM is my friend, which makes things even more complicated at times. You see, he and Russell grew up together, and for whatever odd reason in this world, were reunited in this tiny town 150 miles away from home after 8 years of separation. So, I stayed positive and explained to him that I wanted to pursue all of the things I have going on the side, my sewing, my graphics, my CafePress shop, my jewelry design. I simply told him that it was time for me to move on.

He blew my mind when he told me he supported me in that 100%. He said he knew I had been trying these things for years and he knew I could be successful. He just wanted me to give him more time to replace me. He said I had “some pretty big shoes to fill”. That upset me a bit because I should have always felt that my shoes were going to be hard to fill, and I never have. He has told me in the past that everyone is expendable. I didn’t let it show that I was bothered.

That night, all I could think about were the “What Ifs” – true mother style, ya know? You always worry about “what if…” So there I was with all my uncertainty. The idea struck me to work only two days a week and step down from Bar Manager. Without even discussing it with Russell, I decided that’s what I would do.

Now, my “I’m a super-hero bartender/server, kick ass and bad ass” egotistical attitude told me my GM would JUMP at this opportunity, but then, my weaker side said he would tell me no deal. I went into work yesterday and started my conversation with “I have something for you to think about, I’ll take my resignation back if…” I barely finished with the details before he said “You got it, Done!” Sweet. I’ll be working Tuesdays and Thursdays, and Zoe can remain in preschool for those days. I’m still employed. I’m still secure. And I STILL have time to devote to my other things. It’s like having my cake and eating it too…

I think I made the right decision. Now, go buy a purse or a banner or something! LOL

4 Responses

  1. That’s fantastic! Doesn’t it make you feel good to know that you really were important to them? You go girl!

  2. How great is THAT?! Congrats on following your heart and gut ☺

  3. That’s great! Congratulations 🙂

  4. Angela, I am so proud of you!!! You are making a great decision to pursue the things you are SO talented at. I have been lazy and haven’t bought anything from you yet but I’m going to change that & start buying gifts from you – it’s birthday season with my husband’s family so there will be lots needed. Love ya!!!

Leave a Reply

