"Wolfman’s Got nards!" – The Monster Squad 20th Anniversary


I just found out this was actually on DVD. The two disc 20th anniversary edition leaves a sour taste in my mouth. Twenty years? Nothing like something from your childhood popping up 20 years later to make you feel old, right?

I absolutely loved this movie as a child. I thought I was 7 or 8 when I saw it, I guess I was more like 6. Well, maybe I was 7 or 8 when I saw it. I can’t wait to sit and watch it with my kids. Although, they have already seen it because my super duper ex-husband went and bought it after he excitedly told me it was for sale. What a booger head! That’s ok, we can still watch it together and I’ll be a total goof off while spouting out silly quotes.

I remember very vividly after watching The Monster Squad, walking to the store with my mom, and asking her what a virgin was. She immediately stumbled for words and said, “it’s a girl that’s never had a boyfriend”. Good job, mom! Though, for years I thought only girls could be virgins.

I remember having a crush on Sean, the leader of this “squad” for years. With some research I found that he is actually Andre Gower.

From About.com:

The tale unfolds as a squad of kids come upon a magic charm which is being sought by five monsters (Dracula, Frankenstein, the Wolfman, the Mummy, and The Creature from the Black Lagoon). The monsters need the talisman because it will give them the power of immortality… but the kids aren’t so willing to part with their treasure.

Thanks to a fun but formulaic screenplay written by Shane Black and Fred Dekker (yes, “Black & Dekker”), Monster Squad is a movie aimed squarely at younger kids and those who are kids at heart, mixing elements of The Hardy Boys Mysteries, Abbot & Costello Meet Frankenstein, and The Goonies. It’s silly but harmless amusement, and you’re bound to enjoy a chuckles or two as the motley crew of monsters bumbles after the smart (and smart-alecky) kids.

Needless to say, I am WAY excited about watching this, um, 20 years later…

Ang

Leave a Reply

